Tuesday, 15 September 2009

Call for Papers

The First Annual Popular Culture Association of Australia and New Zealand (PopCAANZ) will be held June 30, July 1, 2 at the VIBE Hotel in Sydney.

Our website http://www.library.uq.edu.au/ipswich/popcaanz/

This interdisciplinary and transnational conference is accepting proposals on ALL aspects of popular culture including but not limited to:


Graphic Novels, Comics and Visual Cultures (Dr Paul Mountfort paul.mountfort@aut.ac.nz)
Popular Design (Dr Derham Groves, derham@unimelb.edu.au)
Popular Romance Studies (Dr Glen Thomas, gj.thomas@qut.edu.au)
Popular Fiction (Dr Toni Johnson-Woods, t.johnsonwoods@uq.edu.au)
Film and TV (Dr Rebecca Beirne, Rebecca.Beirne@newcastle.edu.au )
Fashion (Assoc Prof Vicki Karaminas, Vicki.Karaminas@uts.edu.au)
Popular Science (Dr William Lott, b.lott@qut.edu.au)
Linguistics (Alan Libert, Alan.Libert@newcastle.edu.au)
Queer Studies (Dr Samar Habib, S.Habib@uws.edu.au)
Journalism and Popular Culture (Dr John Cokely, http://www.blogger.com/j.cokley@uq.edu.au) Writing (Creative/Non Fiction) (Dr Giselle Bastin, Giselle.Bastin@flinders.edu.au)
Popular History (Dr Hsu-Ming Teo, Hsu-ming.Teo@humn.mq.edu.au)
Food Studies (Toni Risson, t.risson@uq.edu.au)
Sports and Popular Culture (Carol Wical, c.wical@uq.edu.au)
Popular Music Ed Montano (e_j_montano@hotmail.com)

Law and Popular Culture (Dr Jason Bainbridge, JBAINBRIDGE@groupwise.swin.edu.au)
Philosophy and Popular Culture
International Popular Cultures

Indigenous Cultures
Green Issues and Popular Culture
Writing (Creative/Non Fiction)
Libraries, Archives, Museums and Popular Research


Creative work is also accepted. Proposals for panels are welcome.

We will also be holding a postgraduate poster evening. All postgrads and undergrads (provided they are working with the guidance of a trained scholar) interested in presenting their would-be or current research are invited to submit an abstract. Please mark your submissions: Poster Session.

Abstracts (300 words max.) should be sent as e-mail attachments to the area chairs, if none is designated please forward to Dr Toni Johnson-Woods, t.johnsonwoods@uq.edu.au. The deadline for submissions is 30th November 2009 (first round) -- second round 20th December. Please include your name, affiliation, mailing and e-mail address, and the title of your presentation. E-mails should be entitled: PopCanz Conference. If you do not receive an acknowledgment within one week, please resend your submission. Accepted presenters will be notified via e-mail by January 2010.

A selection of papers from the conference will be solicited for publication in the PopCAANZ Journal.


Additional information is available on the PopCanz blogsite: http://popcanz.blogspot.com/

7 comments:

  1. Many institutions limit access to their online information. Making this information available will be an asset to all.
    Writing a Research Paper

    ReplyDelete
  2. Thank you for sharing this information. The information was very helpful and saved a lot of my time.

    Research Papers Help

    ReplyDelete
  3. I really like to learn about contests that are happening. It is a great chance for learners to show off what they can...

    --dissertation writing services--

    ReplyDelete
  4. Thank you sharing this great information. Creative work of a person shows his complete sketch of approach in relating field. It was a great for learners to show off what they can...
    dissertation services.

    ReplyDelete
  5. Cheap Dissertation Writing Service has become an essential part of completing graduation day. Students have to deal with this part of his academic life to obtain for the purpose of higher education.

    Cheap Dissertation Writing Service

    ReplyDelete
  6. This comment has been removed by the author.

    ReplyDelete
  7. Great blog post with useful cleaning ideas and sharing wonderful information. I saw very few blogs like this. Thanks anyway!
    Cheap Assignment Writing Service | Cheap Dissertation Writing Service

    ReplyDelete